Browse and Restore

You can find the Browse And Restore option either under Jobs > History or Clients > Summary. To access the drop-down menu that will allow you to select this option:
  • Select the job and click Actions in the upper-left corner
  • Right-click the job
  • Select "Browse and Restore"
This action lets you restore some or all of the files from the selected backup. This action uses the new file browser interface to select the files to restore, as well as to (optionally) select a different location on a different client to restore the files to.
Note: You can only browse and restore from backup jobs for which a check mark appears in the Restore-able column of Jobs > History. Also, the job must import (Server > Import) before you will be able to do this. Prior to importing, the job is one large block of data on the RAID, and importing categorizes and organizes the directories and files within the backup job, allowing you to browse through the individual directories and files. (You can do the quick restore even before importing is complete.)
When you select Browse and Restore, a file browser screen will appear.
The Browse and Restore screen, in the Restore Client panel at the top, you specify which client to restore the files to.
The default selection is the client for the backup job.
If you are restoring to a different client, you also specify the path on that client to relocate the restored files to (using a separate browser window, if you want).
On the default client, files are restored to the location that they were backed up from.
Then, in the browser panel, you specify which folders and/or files from the backup job to restore:
  • The Current Folder panel lists the folder currently selected (highlighted) in the browser interface below (under Folders). You can use the icon to move to the root of the current folder tree, or the icon to move up one level in the directory tree. You can also use the drop-down list to view and select previous Current Folder listings from this restore session.
  • To navigate the folder views, click the folders in the Navigation Tree pane (below, on the left). The contents of the selected (highlighted) folder in the Navigation Treepane are displayed in the Entry List pane (on the right).
  • Then, you will check the check boxes to specify which files and folders to restore. When a folders check box is checked, all folders and files contained in that folder are checked. If you subsequently uncheck a check box at a lower level, the parent folders will no longer be checked (but check boxes in other paths are unaffected).
For example:
  • If you attempt to backup the Myself client, the files will be restored to the same location (and cannot be relocated).
  • The selected (highlighted) folder, events, contains one file, sample.conf. The check mark for the file means that it will be restored, and the check mark for the events folder means that its entire contents (one file, in this case) will be restored. (Other folders in the example are also selected.)
  • Note that the acpi folder is not checked; a check mark would indicate that the folders entire contents are selected, which is not the case here. The same is true for the etc folder and the root ( / ) folder higher in the tree. Also, the folders with partial selections are dimmed in the browser interface).
To Browse and Restore:
  1. In the Restore Client panel, use the Restore to This Client drop-down list to select which client to restore to. By default, the restore client is set to either the client that is being restored or the client that the backup originated from, depending on how the restore was initiated.
    • You can change the restore client by selecting a different client in the Restore to This Client drop-list.
    • Only clients that are currently online and available are shown in the list.
    • If you are restoring to the same client, skip to step 4.
  2. If you are restoring to a different client, in the "Relocate to This Path" box, select "Browse" to specify the path on the selected client where you wish to relocate the restored files.
    • Use the browsing interface to select the folder to use as the starting point for the relocated restored files.
    • The contents of the selected (highlighted) folder on the left will be displayed on the right and listed in the "Current Folder" text box.
    • The "File Selection" field will show you what location you have chosen.
  3. After selecting the location to restore the files to youll be taken back to the previous window.
  4. Click Restore to restore the files.
To Restore ("Quick" Restore)
This action provides a quick interface for restoring all of the files from the selected backup.
Note: You can only restore from backup jobs for which a check mark appears in the Restore-able column of Jobs > History.
  • By default, the files will be restored to the location and the client that they were backed up from.
  • If you want to relocate the restored files to a different location (especially if you restore to a different client), in the "Relocate Restored Files To" box, type the new location.
  • If you want to restore the files to a different client, use the Restore to Client drop-down list to select the client.
  • Then click Restore to restore the files.