Are Windows permissions and rights retained when restoring to alternate location?
Windows clients (agents) back up permissions, and the backup data will retain the permissions that were set upon backup rather than inherit the restore location permissions. This setting can also be disabled by selecting Ignore Win32 Attributes in the file set editor for the desired client on the cloud failover appliance.
Jumbo frame MTU support
The highest setting possible for Jumbo Frames is
Please note that this will work on NIC1, but not on NIC0 (the two interfaces have different e1000 chipsets and also have different feature sets). No errors shown if it does not work when changing MTU size. The MTU value simply goes back to the default on reloading the page if the setting did not take.
If you are currently using Nic0:
Transfer settings from NIC0 to NIC1.
Set your MTU on NIC1.
Submit and activate configuration changes.
Reboot cloud failover appliance to make sure the changes applied.
Can I transfer files over VNC connection to or from a virtual machine booted on the cloud failover appliance?
No, the system does not support file transferring over the VNC connection to or from a virtual machine booted on the cloud failover appliance.
Does disaster recovery backup agent need to run as domain admin?
The backup agent does not have to be run as a system or domain admin on your computer, but you do need to make sure the agent will have sufficient access to the files it needs to back up, otherwise you will get
Access Denied errors or warnings in the message logs of the backup.
There are two options for successful backups:
Run the agent as an admin (easiest)
Create a specific user that will give the cloud failover appliance needed access for the backups.
This may take some trial and error by viewing the message logs to make sure there are no files that are denied access, but it is a possibility if you do not wish to have the agent running as an admin.
Is data on the cloud failover appliance encrypted?
Hard disks where the cloud failover appliance stores backups are encrypted to protect data from being accessed offline.
Why are some backup sets crossed out on the Archive › History subtab?
- Some sets of archive jobs are crossed out in the CFA Management Console › Archive › History.
- The system will only cross out an automatically archived set if the disk gets re-formatted. If you purge the jobs or format, a new automatically archived set is created.
From a management point of view, we suggest formatting over purging. While both operations will clear the disk, only a format will cross out or strike out the volume in Archive › History and this may help you keep track of the disks better.
Some customers prefer to purge and not get the strike-outs. They say they like the historical “picture” they get over time. Others prefer to format each time and be able to see that that archive set is gone and no longer valid.
What are the RAID levels in different cloud failover appliances?
By default, each cloud failover appliance is provisioned with a predefined RAID level.