›  Cloud Backup  ›  Online Backup and Recovery Manager  ›  For Windows  ›  Settings

Configure Online Backup and Recovery Manager for Windows

On this page

To access and configure the overall settings of Online Backup and Recovery Manager (OBRM), open OBRM, and then go to MenuAdvanced Options.

Advanced options

Set internet usage limits

To set the internet usage limits:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Internet Usage Limits.

    1. To limit the network bandwidth allocated for OBRM to upload the backup data to the cloud, select Network Bandwidth Usage Limit, and set the preferred value.

      • Select Always Throttle to always limit the bandwidth.

      • Select Throttle Between, and set days and time to limit the bandwidth during the preferred time interval.

    2. To limit the amount of backup data OBRM uploads to the cloud daily, select Daily Upload Limit, and then set the preferred value.

    Internet usage limits

  2. Click Save to apply changes.

Set caching options

When you are backing up over the internet—one of the biggest considerations is what data gets transferred. Obviously, if a file has not changed—it should not be backed up. The real issue is how files that have changed are treated. Online backup can be set up to transfer the whole file again, or transfer just 1’s and 0’s that have changed. The problem with this second approach, is that it requires that files be cached on your computer, which is why IntelliCache is the default. The application will intelligently determine which files to cache, meaning that the cache requirements on your machine are minimal.

To set the caching options:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Caching Options.

  2. Select one of the available caching options:

    Retransfer Entire File
    No local cache. More data transferred. Has the smallest footprint.
    Use Binary Compression
    Caches every file locally (takes up space). Fastest backups.
    Use Online Backup IntelliCache
    Best of both worlds. Fast backups, small cache.

    Caching options

  3. Click Save to apply changes.

Change account type

Before changing the account type, you have to delete all cloud data associated with the account. For this:

  1. In OBRM, click View/Restore.

  2. Right-click the computer name, and then click Delete.

After you delete the data from the cloud, change the account type as follows:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Change Account Type.

  2. Select one of the available account types:

    • Regular account

    • Standard UltraSafe (managed encryption)

      Setting your account to UltraSafe means that encryption keys for your account will be securely managed in the cloud making your password unrecoverable and disabling access by your admin (if applicable).

    • UltraSafe MAX (personal encryption)

      UltraSafe MAX is recommended for truly sensitive data. A separate passphrase from your account passphrase will be used to generate a unique encryption key to protect and recover your data. UltraSafe MAX passphrases are unrecoverable and must be maintained by the user. UltraSafe MAX keys are never stored in the cloud and all access to data must be done through the Online Backup software. The UltraSafe MAX passphrase must be provided upon recovery. Only empty accounts can be converted to UltraSafe MAX.

    Account types

  3. Click Apply Changes.

Change account password

To change the account password:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Change Password.

  2. Enter the current account password, a new password to set, and confirm the new password.

    Account password

  3. Click Change Password to apply changes.

Set email backup reports

The email backup report is sent when the online backup session completes. It is also sent if the online backup session was canceled in Online Backup and Recovery Manager.

The online backup session can be interrupted if the computer turns off, restarts, or goes into the sleep/standby mode. If the online backup session is interrupted, the backup report will not be sent.

To set the email backup reports:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Email Backup Reports.

  2. Select Send email reports at the end of backup.

  3. Enter an email address to send the reports to.

    Email backup reports

  4. Click Save to apply changes.

The fastest way to verify that you can receive the email backup reports is to start the backup session and cancel it.

Set app folders

To set the default OBRM folders:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Folders.

  2. Set the following folders:

    Folder Description
    Local backup folder Used to store the data backed up locally
    Recovery folder Used to store the recovered data
    Temp folder Used to store temporary app data
    Cache folder Used to store the app cache

    App folders

  3. Click Save to apply changes.

Change security options

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Security Options.

  2. Choose if you want OBRM to use SSL or not.

    Encryption is based on 256-bit AES and protects your files before they are transferred to cloud, ensuring your data is completely private. To further increase security during transfer, we recommend using SSL.

    Security options

  3. Click Save to apply changes.

Change scheduled task options

To change the options for the scheduled backup tasks:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Scheduled Backup Tasks.

  2. Select or clear the following:

    • Run a task as soon as possible after a scheduled start was missed

    • Wake the computer to start a task

    • Start a task only if the computer is on AC power

    • Pause a task in progress if the computer switches to the battery power

    If you change these settings, they will apply only to the newly created tasks. To apply changes to the existing tasks, you have to configure those tasks again.

    Scheduled backup task options

  3. Click Save to apply changes.

Change app language

To change the app language:

  1. In OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then select Change Language.

  2. From the drop-down list, select the preferred language.

    App language

  3. Click Save, and then restart OBRM for changes to take effect.

Save settings when reinstalling

To save configuration (caching options, app cache, backup set, and so on) when reinstalling OBRM:

  1. Go to the OBRM data folder (for example, C:\ProgramData\Online Backup and Recovery Manager).

  2. Copy the following files and folders to a temporary location:

    • CsvReports

    • Logs

    • config.xml

    • protect_[username].db

    • recover_[username].db

    • SStorage.db

    • [username].Settings.xml

    Program data folder

  3. Copy the cache folder to a temporary location:

    1. Open OBRM, go to MenuAdvanced Options, and then click Folders.

      Note the cache folder location.

      Folder settings

    2. Copy the cache folder to a temporary location.

  4. After you uninstall OBRM and install it again:

    • Move the files and folders copied earlier back to the OBRM data folder (for example, C:\ProgramData\Online Backup and Recovery Manager).

    • Move the cache folder copied earlier back to its previous location.