Overview

The Job Schedules section shows the backup schedules configured on the CFA.

Schedules define when to run backup jobs and at what level (full, differential, or incremental). (See Backup level considerations.)

Information

The Job Schedules section shows information in the table format with the following columns:

Column name Column description
Name Name of the schedule
Description Description of the schedule
Clients Number of clients using the schedule
Summary Summary of runs within the schedule

Special actions

Action name Action description
New Create a job schedule
Edit Edit a job schedule
Clone Create a copy of a job schedule
Show Clients Show clients using a job schedule
Delete Delete a job schedule
Import Import job schedules
Export Export job schedules

Filters

Filter name Filter description
Name Filter job schedules by name

Creating a job schedule

To create a job schedule:

  1. Click New on the toolbar.

    A new schedule dialog opens.

  2. In the Identification group, enter a name and a description for the schedule.

  3. In the Runs group, click New to create a run.

    A run determines when backups will run within the current schedule. Each run covers the backup level, as well as the time and days for it to perform.

    • In the Options group, select the backup level.

    • In the Scheduling group, select the frequency, and set time and date when the backups will run.

Editing a job schedule

To edit a job schedule, select the desired schedule, and then click Edit on the toolbar or in the context menu of the schedule.

Cloning a job schedule

To create a copy of a job schedule, select the desired schedule, and then click Clone on the toolbar or in the context menu of the schedule.

Viewing clients that use a job schedule

To view the list of clients using a job schedule, select the desired schedule, and then click Show Clients on the toolbar or in the context menu of the schedule.

Deleting a job schedule

To delete a job schedule, select the desired schedule, and then click Delete on the toolbar or in the context menu of the schedule.

Note

You can only delete schedules with no clients.

Exporting job schedules

To export the job schedules, click Export on the toolbar, and then save the XML-file to a desired location.

You can later import these schedules to another CFA.

Importing job schedules

To import the job schedules, click Import on the toolbar, and then select a valid XML-file (for example, exported from another CFA) to upload.

Backup level considerations

The table below describes the available backup levels.

Backup level Description
Full Saves all files specified for the client, whether or not the files have been modified since the last backup.
Differential Saves all files that have been modified since the last successful full backup.
If a previous full backup (or a suitable full backup) can’t be found, then the differential backup will be upgraded to the full backup.
Incremental Saves any file that has changed since any previous successful backup of that file.
If a previous full backup (or a suitable full backup) can’t be found, then the incremental backup will be upgraded to the full backup.

The backup system will search for a suitable full backup. If the full backup can’t be found, the CFA will search for a job with the following attributes:

  • the same client name

  • the same file set definition

    Note

    Any change to the client’s file set definition, such as adding or deleting a file in the section for included files or excluded files or directories, constitutes a different file set definition.
  • for a differential backup job, the earlier backup job was a full backup

  • for an incremental backup job, the earlier backup job was a full, differential, or incremental backup

  • the earlier backup job terminated normally (that’s, it didn’t fail and wasn’t canceled)

If the aforesaid conditions aren’t met, the differential or incremental backup job will be promoted to a full backup job.

For a differential or incremental backup, the backed up files that are determined by comparing the start time of the previous backup job and the time when each file was last modified; files modified after the backup start time will be backed up. The time on the client should be synchronized as closely as possible to the time on the CFA to be sure that all modified files are backed up.