When the job is archived, the "Arch" column in the manually archive jobs area under Archive > Libraries, and the "Archive" Column under Jobs > History are automatically marked. This shows the jobs have been archived.
The "Mark Media As Archive" checkbox makes a small change in the "Media Inventory" tab, which is something that is generally used for organizational purposes.
This tab works with the "History" tab to allow you to see the history of all jobs archived on various drives. You can name drives (under the Manage Disk icon) and note their locations for long term storage. This information can be modified on from the Media Inventory tab without requiring the physical drive to be in the CFA, so if you change locations from site 1 to site 2, this can be updated on the CFA as well.
The mark media as archive button will mark a "status" indicator on the Media Inventory list as "archived" rather than "appendable" or "empty". This will allow you to indicate that you are not making any further changes to a drive and are shipping it offsite to a long term storage facility. The other thing mark media as archive button does is prevent the jobs that are written to the drive when this button is selected to no longer be purge-able from the drive. This will require a reformat of the drive to remove the data that was archived at that time.
The History and Media Inventory tabs are used for this historical/organizational documentation of archived jobs. We are working to get more robust documentation about this area of the CFA and will post a knowledge base article as soon as it is available.
There are two ways to clear data from an archive drive:
  • Reformatting (recommended): Reformatting the archive drive. Archive > History can be cleared by reformatting disks (as opposed to deleting all the jobs from the disk). This removes them from archive history, or at least shows these jobs as purged which is not shown by default.
  • Purging: If you only want to clear out specific jobs instead of reformatting the entire drive, go to Archive > Libraries > Manage Disk > select 'View Archived Jobs'. From here you can select specific jobs by clicking on the boxes to the left, then selecting 'Purge Selected Jobs'.
    • These purged jobs will still show under Archive > History or Archive > Media Inventory as available. If you are interested in accurate documentation of long term archive storage, it is recommended to reformat the drive (see above).
    • This option will not show if there is an Archive in process.