The Jobs tab allows to view information about and interact with backup and restore jobs.

History subtab

Every time a backup or restore job is run, information about the job is recorded. The History subtab shows then summary of the job information.

Information

Information on the Jobs subtab is presented in the table format with the following default columns:

Column name Possible values Description
Job ID   Unique identifier of the job
Status   Job status
  Completed
The job finished successfully
  Completed with errors
The job has finished and is usable, but might have a problem (e.g., a missing file because the agent could not read it)
  Failed Verification
A completed job that was reimported or replicated and there was a problem detected with the job (e.g., a file was found to be corrupt)
  Error terminated or fatal error
The job did not complete successfully and is not restorable
  Canceled
The backup was canceled, it is not complete, and cannot be restored
  Pending Replication
Some of the job data has been replicated, but reassembling the entire job requires data from another job that has not yet finished replicating
  Pending delete
Data from this job is required to be able to reassemble another job. When the other job has finished replicating and is complete, this job will be deleted
Errors   Number of job errors
Archived   Checkmark indicates that a job has been archived 1
Client   Name of the client that the job belongs to
Type   Job type
  Backup
  Restore
  VMware backup
  BMR backup
  DR Image backup
  Hyper-V backup
Level   Backup job level
  Full backup
  Differential backup
  Incremental backup
  Synthetic full
LiveBMR   Checkmark indicates that the job is a BareMetal backup and restore job
De-duped   Checkmark indicates that the job has been deduped, and that duplicate files have been removed
Started Date   Date and time when the jobs was started
Duration   Time that the job took to complete
Throughput   Average speed of the job. Job speed depends on multiple factors, including file sizes and network conditions
File Count   Number of files backed up or restored within the job
Read Bytes   Number of bytes read from the client disk
Saved Bytes   Number of bytes saved to the CFA
Compression   Compression factor
Restorable   Checkmark indicates that the job has restorable data. Jobs not imported may be restorable, but not yet browsable

Special actions

All special actions on the History subtab are available via

  • the toolbar on the top left, or

  • the context menu of a job

infoEach entry on the History subtab has a checkbox on the left side of the screen. If you check the checkboxes for one or more entries, the actions that you select on the tollbar will, if possible, apply to all selected entries.

View message logs

To view the message log, i.e. the detailed summary of logs generated by a backup job, click Message Logs on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

View client properties

To view the properties of a client associated with a certain job, click Show Client Properties on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

This covers the following information:

  • real-time status of the backed up files
  • basic configuration
  • advanced configuration
  • storage utilization
  • backup failures

Prevent automatic deletion of a job

By default, a backup job can be deleted automatically

  • under the retention policy, or
  • if the respective client is deleted/unregistered, and the CFA is configured to delete the orphaned jobs.

To prevent automatic deletion of a backup job in these cases, you can pin the job as follows:

  1. Click Pin Job on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

  2. In the Date Until Pinned combo box, set the date, by which the job will stay pinned.

  3. In the Comments box, enter a comment, and then click OK.

Pinned jobs are indicated by a checkmark in the Pinned column. You can sort and/or filter the jobs by this status.

To unpin a job, click Unpin Job on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

To view or edit the details of a pinned job, click Pin Info on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

Browse and restore data

To browse and restore files and folders from the selected backup, click Browse and Restore on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

Restore all data from a backup

To restore all files from a backup job, click Restore on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

By default, files will be restored to their original paths. If you want to restore the files to a different location, specify a new path in the Relocate restored files to box.

If you want to restore the files to a different client, select the desired client in the Restore to client dropdown list.

Delete a job

To delete a job from the overall job list, click Delete on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job.

View job properties

To view the properties of a job, click Properties on the toolbar or in the context menu of the job. This covers the following information:

  • general job information
  • deduplication statistics (if the job has been deduped)
  • information about any backup failures (files that could not be backed up)

(Re)Import missing data

If you suspect that the selected backup missed the importing files, you can re-import them (import again and add to the backup).

For this click Advanced > (Re)Import on the toolbar, or (Re)Import in the context menu of the job.

Deduplicate data

To enable the CFA to automatically store only one copy of an unchanged file, if the same file has been previously backed up, click Advanced > Deduplicated on the toolbar, or Deduplicate in the context menu of the job.

infoIn order to deduplicate backup jobs, you must enable deduplication on the client, to which the job pertains.

Retention subtab

The Retention subtab is where you would set the default retention policy for all newly created clients and newly registered VMs.

Settings subtab

The Settings subtab allows to enable the global job setting management and define the management options.

Setting Description
Enable Automatic Job Management Enables the system to automatically delete jobs after their retention period expires.
Retention periods are set on a per-client basis using the Clients > Edit subtab. (See Retention subtab)
Automatically Delete Orphaned Jobs Enables the system to automatically delete any jobs with deleted clients. This will cause all jobs that no longer have their associated clients to be deleted
Immediately Delete Erred Jobs Enables the system to automatically delete any unsuccessful jobs.
Erred jobs can be a source of hidden used space even if the job says 0 bytes were saved. It is recommended to delete erred jobs unless they are part of troubleshooting an issue with the Infrascale Support
Job Retention Policy Select a job retention policy from the drop-down list. By default, jobs are automatically deleted if a job’s backup level has been selected for recycling, and the retention period for the backup level has expired. Job retention periods are set on the per-client basis.
Select Preserve Single Job Set if you want the system to save an old job until a more recent full backup exists. The CFA will save the most recent full and all subsequent differentials and incrementals until a new full is successfully backed up
Job Schedules  
Preform Retention Scan When enabled, all clients will be backed up according to their schedules.
When disabled, no schedules are used and only manual backups will be performed.
The CFA will scan for jobs outside of their retention policy every hour. However you can start one manually by selecting Right Now

Unreferenced Data subtab

The Unreferenced Data subtab lists the leftover data that should have been deleted after you deleted a job.

This data takes up the disk space and should be deleted.

Alternatively, you may try to re-import the unreferenced data and restore it to the job history list.

Purged Jobs subtab

The Purged Jobs subtab lists the jobs that have been deleted from the CFA.

notification_importantThis subtab is hidden by default unless in the advanced view mode. It is not recommended to open without prior consultation with the support representative.

Along with the general information about each job (same as on the History subtab), the Purged Jobs subtab allows to view when and why a job was deleted.

  1. If the archive disk is formatted after the job was archived, the archive check will remain without the archive copy. In this event, a new archive of the job should be created.