Hyper-V server connection

Add new Hyper-V server connection

To add a new Hyper-V host connection, you first need to ensure the proper software is installed on the Hyper-V host. You will need the latest 6.7 version of the Windows agent as well as the latest version of the DR Imaging software installed. In version 6.7 and later, during the client creation, you can push this software to the Hyper-V Host.

If a client has not already been created for this Hyper-V host you will want to do that now. For additional info, see Creating a Client Configuration.

Once the client is showing connected and ready we can now click Add Connection. A wizard will pop up which will guide you through the process of adding the Hyper-V host.

From the dropdown list, select the client that represents your Hyper-V host.

infoIf the client associate with your host is not listed here, you will need to check the Clients > Summary subtab for its current status. If it is showing anything other than a green checkmark, it will not be displayed in this drop down.

If have not yet added the client, you are given the option to Add New Client, which will take you through the Creating a Client Configuration wizard.

You can also specify a description for your selected host, however this is not required. Click Next will continue the wizard.

Here you will have the option of registering all VMs currently local to the Hyper-V host at connection time. You will still be able to register each VM one at a time after the connection is created if you do not enable this option.

infoWe do not allow multiple connections to the same Hyper-V host, you may receive an error that we failed to connect due to existing connection to that host already existing.

Edit existing Hyper-V server connection

Click View Connections to open the connections dialog.

From this dialog you have the ability to disconnect, reconnect or completely remove a connection. To view further information about a particular connection select Properties from the context menu.

The Connection Properties dialog gives more in-depth information about a connection. From this dialog you can also edit address information (not editable if connected), view Host connection properties and number of hosted VMs.

Edit Hyper-V client configuration

To edit a Hyper-V client configuration, click the Edit button on the actions bar.

Synthetic Full Complete Hyper-V backups are a complete snapshot. Subsequent backups are appended to the previous backups and stored as a full file set/snapshot.
File Set Hyper-V backups are complete and therefore do not have an editable file set.
Deduplication Hyper-V backups are always deduplicated.

Restore Hyper-V client

To restore a backed up Hyper-V VM, launch the restore wizard via one of the following:

  • Clients > Summary
  • Clients > Hyper-V
  • Jobs > History

With the exception of selecting the job itself from Job > History, you will be presented with the option of which job to restore.

Select the backup you wish to restore and click Next.

You will be prompted to select one of the connected Hyper-V hosts as a target restore location. If you do not see the desired host, ensure that it is currently connected (see Edit existing Hyper-V server connection). Choose a host and click Next.

The next step of the wizard will allow you to name the new VM. Hyper-V hosts will allow you to have multiple virtual VMs with the same name, so by default restored is appended to the original name. Change the name (optional) and the name click Next.

The final page is a summary page that will allow you to review the restore options you’ve selected. This page also has an option to power on the VM upon completion of the restore. By default this option is set to No. If you are satisfied with the restore options, click Finish.

You can monitor the status of the restore in Clients > Hyper-V (see Action column).

Browse and restore Hyper-V backups

  1. On the Summary tab, right-click a Hyper-V client to restore files from, and click Browse and Restore.

  2. Select the job to restore files from.

  3. Select the type of restore:

    • Component Files

      Browse and restore the files that make up (define) the VM. This includes the VM .ovf file as well as its .vmdk file. Typically, these files are only useful if you need access to low-level, technical information regarding the VM.

    • Contained Files

      Browse and restore the files that are contained on the VM hard disks. Each disk can be explored independently using our exclusive file system browser UI. This is a great way to restore selected files from within a VM without having to restore (and possibly create) the entire thing.

      infoMounting the VM disks may not be immediate. Once started, the process will make a copy of the disks to work from. Once copied, subsequent mounts/restore requests will be significantly faster.
  4. Review your selections and click Finish.

  5. Select the files and/or folders to restore.

  6. Select the client and path to restore to. The path can be selected or browsed.

    notification_importantCurrently we are only able to restore to the existing VMware VMs or any system with an agent installed. If you are attempting to restore files to a Hyper-V VM, you will need to install the agent on the VM and create a client in the UI.
    Restoring component files to a Hyper-V server will restore a .vmdk file, which Hyper-V is not able to use. The file will need to be converted to a .vhd file before it can be recognized by Hyper-V.
  7. Click Restore to submit the restore job. The files are restored to the path specified.

Remove a Hyper-V client

To remove a Hyper-V client:

  1. Go to Clients > Hyper-V.

  2. Right-click the client you want to remove.

  3. Click Unregister to open the wizard.

  4. Follow the wizard instructions.

Remove all Hyper-V clients

  1. Click View Connections.

  2. Right-click the server to be removed, and click Remove.

    This will open the wizard showing the list of VMs to be removed.

  3. Click Yes to remove the connection and all VMs on the selected server.

You can choose to delete the jobs that will remove all of the jobs from the storage. Or you can choose to orphan the jobs that will allow them to remain in the CFA storage until they removed manually.